The original iPhone?

January 11, 2007 at 12:57 pm | Posted in Apple | Leave a comment

linksysiphone.jpgThe other, original iPhone owned by Linksys, a subsidiary of Cisco. This is an Internet phone which allows you to use the Internet for phone calls. Voice over IP.

Then there’s the guy who has owned iphone.com for13 years. Wonder what he will do?

My best tech move of 2006

January 11, 2007 at 8:31 am | Posted in mobile internet | Leave a comment

In the closing months of 2006 my trusty flash drive died.  These things don’t last forever and I had backed up everything so the loss wasn’t huge.  Found a SanDisk 1GB drive for $15 – what  a deal.

That’s not the best part.  The best part was installing the portable versions of Firefox browser and the Thunderbird email app on the flash drive.  Now, no matter what computer I am using, I can use my email address,  with contacts and old email, as well as MY browser with MY bookmarks. 

There a number of applications designed to be run from  a flash drive.  Installing these little apps takes your flash drive from mere storage to a mini-computer (without the monitor, keyboard, mouse, CPU, operating system and the rest of the heavy stuff).

That’s my story.  What’s your’s?


Entries and comments feeds.